August 12, 2016, Tallin

Thirty Minutes of a Three Million Minute Journey

Music By Frank Horvat | International Music Days, Tallin, Estonia

August 12, 2016, 7:00 p.m.

Blackheads Haus, Tallin, Estonia

10€, 7€ for students and seniors


online and 1 hour before the concert


Frank Horvat – Thirty Minutes of a Three Million Minute Journey
Alexina Louie – Memories in an Ancient Garden
Sergei Prokofiev – Overture On Hebrew Themes
Dmitri Shostakovitch – String Quartet No.1

Thirty Minutes of a Three Million Minute Journey

Michael Westwood and Frank Horvat have previously collaborated on two new compositions for the contemporary clarinet repertoire (a chamber trio and a clarinet concerto), both of which have emotionally involved and moved audiences during their repeat performances. This new commission, Thirty Minutes of a Three Million Minute Journey, will be even more emotionally gripping and relevant due to its length and timely subject matter.

As Canadians, we have been impacted by news reports about the plight of so many who are currently displaced around the globe. Individuals and families, who have had to flee their homes, their lives, due to war, persecution or intense poverty. Most of us cannot fathom what desperate situations make you leave everything you’ve ever known for the uncertainty of a marathon journey that has seemingly no defined end.

The plight of the Syrian refugees is the latest in this global displacement. There are Syrians right now who are embarking on the first thirty minutes of their journey while others are heading towards their millionth minute. We hope as Canadians that many of them will continue their journey and find a new safe haven in our country. As a diverse country, there are already thousands of untold stories of Canadians who were once refugees themselves, who are about to or have completed this journey that takes years and millions of minutes to find a new home and begin to feel alive and thrive again. For them and for the people who will soon enter our country and for all Canadians of all backgrounds, we want this piece to strike a lasting emotional chord, one that leads to changed mindsets and helps put a positive end to these unbelievable journeys.

Can we truly understand what this journey is like? No. But, this new composition aims to take us to that emotional state, to feel what a mere thirty minutes is like in someone else’s shoes. This thirty minute composition will depict the drudgery, the grief of migrants fleeing war and prosecution. A journey like this has peaks and valleys but this piece will exemplify the everyday of this long experience, the walking pace of their travel and the deep underlying emotions that haunt them as they try to take the next step forward. The audience will leave with an emotionally drained feeling after just thirty minutes, unable to fathom how anybody can actually complete this whole seemingly never ending journey and hopefully with a new appreciation of what so many new Canadians have had to go through to get here. In this world of sound bites, this piece is a chance to immerse ourselves deeply.

Michael Westwood – Clarinet

Marc Toth – Piano

Estonian String Quartet
Maarja Allik – violin
Karolina Normak – violin
Kristiina Sillak – viola
Andre Pere – cello

Frank Horvat – Composer